Perfect Numbers

A contribution of Willibald Limmbrunner

A natural number n is called a perfect number
if it is equal to the sum of all its (positive) divisors
except itself.
Wikipedia / Perfect Number

The simplest example: The number six has three divisors 1, 2 and 3. The sum of these divisors is 1 + 2 + 3 = 6. The number six is ​​thus a perfect number. The sum of the divisors of a number n is called Sigma σ * (n). So it’s like that: σ * (6) = 6. In words, the divisor sum of six is ​​six.

σ (n): Often, as a divisor of a number, the number itself is also added, then the divisor sum is called σ (n). σ (n) = 1 + 2 + 3 + 6 = 12. It is especially nice to put the divisors into pairs: 2 x 3 = 1 x 6 = 6

Abundant Numbers: Not every number is a perfect number. σ * (12) = 1 + 2 + 3 + 4 + 6 = 16. Here the divisor sum is larger than the number itself. Such numbers are called Abundant Numbers.

Deficient numbers: On the other hand, σ * (8) = 1 + 2 + 4 = 7. Numbers whose divisor sum is smaller than the number itself are called Deficient Numbers.

The next perfect number is σ * ​​(28) = 1 + 2 + 4 + 7 + 14 = 28. The next perfect number is 496. ->

Other regularities of perfect numbers

Harmonic aspects of perfect numbers.

An overtone is particularly catchy when it has as many partials as possible. The fifth overtone of a fundamental sound sounds strange, or new and unfamiliar, if one plays the notes individually. The frequencies 100 Hz, 200 Hz, 300 Hz and 400 Hz sound particularly harmonious and catchy. The frequency ratios octaves (1: 2: 4) and fifths (2: 3) are found. The fifth overtone with 500 Hz sounds new, compared to the previous unfamiliar. The big third with the frequency ratio 4: 5 is new, since the divisibility of the number five is small. Five is also a prime number. The divisor sum σ * (5) = 1.

Musically, the intervals octave and fifth move in the pentatonic. In terms of music history, the occurrence of the Grand Third, for example with the Renaissance, is a turning point. The thirds are the beginning of the music of the fifth-thirds system in which we still make music today. In todays music septims are not natural septims with the frequency ratios 6: 7: 8, but they are integrated in the fifth-thirds system, for example as a diatonic seventh H in the principal triad GHD (major third + minor third, frequency ratio 4: 5: 6).

The first perfect number six plays a prominent role in the harmony of Hans Kayser. He named the first intervals of frequency ratios 1: 2: 3: 4: 5: 6, Senarius. Kayser said it was the harmonic-sounding intervals, while the Septime 6: 7 was disharmonious. However, listening to 6: 7: 8, or about 5: 6: 7, sounds harmonious as well (harmony theory after Johannes Kotschy).

The Senarius (1: 2: 3: 4: 5: 6), however, has other qualities. It contains all harmonic-sounding and constituent intervals of the fifth-thirds system. The frequency proportions 1: 2: 3: 4, written separately 1: 1, 1: 2, 2: 3, 3: 4, brought to common denominator (6:12, 8:12, 9:12, 12:12) and ordered, the Harmonia perfecta maxima (6,8,9,12), the tone sequences C – F – G – C ‘, (Tonic Dominant Subdominant Tonics), the base cadence. The triad over the tone levels (4: 5: 6 frequency proportion) gives the complete diatonic scale.

The hexagonal geometry of Senarius as a basic structure of the world.
The regular polygon with seven vertices can not be constructed with a compass and a ruler, so the angular functions of the seven-part circle are not rational but transcendental numbers. In this respect, the seven forms a natural boundary in the symmetry considerations of the circle. This corresponds to the quintet system with its constituent intervals (1: 2: 3: 4: 5: 6), without this being intended by the music theorists. Our music, which we operate from about the Enlightenment, moves in this context below the seven. The hexagon holds the seven in its midst, in a way unrevealed, hidden.

(Figure from: Limbrunner, Willibald; Zahl Seele Kosmos; Synergiea Verlag; 2010; Abb. 63.)

Indeed, even quantum physics discovered, with the symmetries of the quarks, the hexagonal structure as a fundamental symmetry of the heavy particles. So those particles, which i.a. form the nucleus. The above figure shows the symmetries of baryons and Mesons.

Divisor sums up to 720, see figure above: The multiples of twelve (12, 24, 36, 48 …) have very large divisor sums σ *. The number twelve possesses especially many divisors (1,2,3,4,6). Only with the number 60 and its multiples, the divisor sums are again considerably larger. 60 is the first multiple of 12 which is also divisible by 5. 60 is a particularly well divisible number. With the number 60, the triads of the fifth-thirds system occur: (1/4: 1/5: 1/6 = 15/60: 12:60: 10/60), KgV {4, 5, 6} = 60. The number 720 = 1 x 2 x 3 x 4 x 5 x 6 again dominates all previous divisor sums.

The number 5040: The number 5040 = 1 x 2 x 3 x 4 x 5 x 6 x 7 occurring in Plato’s state (Politeia). The optimal number of people living in an ideal state surpasses all previous ones. With this number, the seven is added.

Number and Harmony: So perfect and abundant numbers, which have many dividers, are especially catchy as overtones, contain many partials, which resonate and resonate strongly with their partials. In this way one can see how elementary number theory and harmony interact. The quotation from the hearings of Pythagoras shows its concrete meaning in this example:

What is the Wisest? Number.

 

The number 72: Not all numbers are the same, each has its peculiarity. Outstanding among the divisor sums is the number 72. In the number range 1 to 6000, the number 72 has the largest subtotal frequency. Ie. it is most common as a divisor in the numbers 1 to 6000 before. Example:
30 = 1×30, 2×15, 3×10, 5×6         σ (30) = 72
46 = 1×46, 2×23                          σ (30) = 72
30 and 46 have the same splitter sum 72.
The number itself is included as a splitter σ(n).

The number 72 has the divisors 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 72. The bold numbers contain both forms of the tetrahedra sacred to the Pythagoreans (1,2,3, 4), (6,8,9,12). The latter form was called “Harmonia perfecta maxima” by the Roman philosopher and writer Boetius.
See also: Kramer, Anton; Rational and Irrational Harmony, p. 77.

The numbers 6 and 72 in the cube. The surface and volume of a six-sided cube are the same. (O = V = 6 x 6 x 6 = 216) There is only a single integer value of the edge length where this is the case. The total length of all 12 edges is 72.

72. 

W. Limbrunner, Nov. 11, 2017

Vollkommene Zahlen

Eine natürliche Zahl n wird vollkommene Zahl (auch perfekte Zahl) genannt, wenn sie gleich der Summe aller ihrer (positiven) Teiler außer sich selbst ist.
Wikipedia/Vollkommene Zahl

Das einfachste Beispiel: Die Zahl sechs hat drei Teiler 1, 2 und 3. Die Summe dieser Teiler ist 1+2+3 = 6. Die Zahl sechs ist also eine vollkommene Zahl. Die Summe der Teiler einer Zahl n wird mit Sigma σ*(n) bezeichnet. Es ist also: σ*(6) = 6. In Worten, die Teilersumme von sechs ist sechs.

σ(n): Oft wird als Teiler einer Zahl auch die Zahl selbst hinzugerechnet, dann heißt die Teilersumme σ(n). σ(n) = 1+2+3+6 = 12.Besonders schön ist nun, die Teiler zu Paaren zusammenzustellen: 2 x 3 = 1 x 6 = 6

Abundante Zahlen: Nicht jede Zahl ist eine vollkommene Zahl. σ*(12) = 1+2+3+4+6 = 16. Hier ist die Teilersumme größer als die Zahl selbst. Man nennt solche Zahlen Abundante Zahlen.

Defiziente Zahlen: Hingegen ist σ*(8) = 1+2+4 = 7. Zahlen, deren Teilersumme kleiner als die Zahl selbst ist, nennt man Defiziente Zahlen.

Die nächsten vollkommenen Zahl ist σ*(28) = 1+2+4+7+14 = 28. Die nächste vollkommene Zahl ist 496. -> Weitere Gesetzmäßigkeiten vollkommener Zahlen.

Harmonikale Aspekte an vollkommenen Zahlen. Ein Oberton ist dann besonders eingängig, wenn dieser möglichst viele Teiltöne besitzt. Der fünfte Oberton eines Grundtones klingt fremd, bzw. neu und ungewohnt, wenn man die Töne einzeln anspielt. Die Frequenzen 100 Hz, 200 Hz, 300 Hz und 400 Hz klingen noch besonders harmonisch und eingängig. Es finden sich die Frequenzverhältnisse Oktaven (1:2:4) und Quinte (2:3) vor. Der fünfte Oberton mit 500 Hz klingt neu, im Vergleich mit den vorhergehenden ungewohnt. Die große Terz mit dem Frequenzverhältnis 4:5 ist neu, da die Teilbarkeit der Zahl fünf gering ist. Fünf ist überdies eine Primzahl. Die Teilersumme σ*(5) = 1.

Musikalisch bewegen sich die Intervalle Oktave und Quinte in der Pentatonik. Musikhistorisch ist das Auftreten der Große Terz, etwa mit der Renaissance eine Zäsur. Mit dem Auftreten der Terzen beginnt die Musik des Quinten-Terzen-Systems, in dem wir noch heute musizieren.Septimen sind keine Naturseptimen mit den Frequenzverhältnissen 6:7:8, sondern sie sind eingebunden im Quinten-Terzen-System, etwa als diatonische Septime H in den leiterneigenen Dreiklang G-H-D (große Terz + kleine Terz, Frequenzverhältnis 4:5:6).

Die erste vollkommene Zahl sechs spielt eine herausragende Rolle in der Harmonik von Hans Kayser. Er nannte die ersten Intervalle der Frequenzverhältnisse 1:2:3:4:5:6, Senarius. Kayser meinte es seien die harmonisch klingenden Intervalle, während die Septime 6:7 disharmonisch sei. Hört man sich jedoch 6:7:8 an, oder etwa 5:6:7, so klingt dies ebenfalls harmonisch (Harmonienlehre nach Johannes Kotschy).

Der Senarius (1:2:3:4:5:6) hat indessen noch andere Qualitäten. Er enthält alle harmonisch klingenden und konstituierenden Intervalle des Quinten-Terzen-Systems. Die Frequenzproportionen 1:2:3:4, getrennt angeschrieben 1:1, 1:2, 2:3, 3:4, auf gemeinsamen Nenner gebracht (6:12, 8:12, 9:12, 12:12) und geordnet, bilden die Harmonia perfekta maxima (6,8,9,12), die Tonfolgen C – F – G – C’, (Tonika-Dominante-Subdominante-Tonika), die Grundkadenz. Über die Tonstufen gelegter Dreiklang (Frequenzproportion 4:5:6), ergibt die vollständige diatonische Tonleiter.

Die hexagonale Geometrie des Senarius als eine Grundstruktur der Welt. Das regelmäßige Polygon mit sieben Ecken ist mit Zirkel und Lineal nicht konstruierbar, somit sind auch die Winkelfunktionen der Siebenerteilung des Kreises keine rationalen, sondern transzendente Zahlen. Insofern bildet die Sieben eine natürliche Grenze in den Symmetriebetrachtungen des Kreises. Dem entspricht das Quintenterzensystem mit seinen konstituierenden Intervallen (1:2:3:4:5:6), ohne dass dies von den Musiktheoretikern beabsichtigt war.  Unserer Musik, die wir etwa ab der Aufklärung betreiben, bewegt sich in diesem Rahmen unterhalb der Sieben. Das Hexagon birgt die Sieben in seiner Mitte, gewissermaßen ungeoffenbart, verborgen.

(Abbildung aus Limbrunner, Willibald; Zahl Seele Kosmos; Synergiea Verlag; 2010; Abb. 63.)

Ja sogar die Quantenphysik entdeckte mit den Symmetrien der Quarks die Hexagonalstruktur als eine grundlegende Symmetrie der schweren Teilchen. Also jenen Teilchen, welche u.a. den Atomkern bilden. Die obenstehende Abbildung zeigt die Symmetrien der Baryonen und Mesonen.

 

Teilersummen bis 720, siehe Abbildung oben: Die Vielfachen von zwölf (12, 24, 36, 48 …) haben besonders große Teilersummen σ*. Die Zahl Zwölf besitzt besonders viele Teiler (1,2,3,4,6). Erst mit der Zahl 60 und ihren Vielfachen werden die Teilersummen noch einmal erheblich größer. 60 ist die erste Vielfache von 12 die ebenfalls durch 5 teilbar ist. 60 ist eine besonders gut teilbare Zahl. Mit der Zahl 60 treten die Dreiklänge des Quinten-Terzen-Systems auf:
(1/4 : 1/5 : 1/6 = 15/60 : 12:60 : 10/60), KgV {4, 5, 6} = 60.
Die Zahl 720 = 1 x 2 x 3 x 4 x 5 x 6 überragt wiederum alle vorhergehenden Teilersummen.

Die Zahl 5040: Die im Platons Staat (Politeia) vorkommende Zahl 5040 = 1 x 2 x 3 x 4 x 5 x 6 x 7. als optimale Zahl an Menschen die in einen idealen Staat leben, überragt wiederum alle vorhergehenden. Mit dieser Zahl tritt die Sieben hinzu.

Zahl und Harmonik: Es sind also vollkommene und abundante Zahlen, die besonders viele Teiler haben, als Obertöne besonders eingängig, enthalten viele Teiltöne, wodurch sie stark mit ihren Teiltönen resonieren und klingen. Auf diese Weise kann man sehen, wie elementare Zahlentheorie und Harmonik zusammenwirken. Das Zitat aus den Hörsprüchen des Pythagoras zeigt an diesem Beispiel seine konkrete Bedeutung:

Was ist das Weiseste? Zahl

 

Die Zahl 72: Nicht alle Zahlen sind gleich, jede hat ihre Besonderheit. Herausragend bei den Teilersummen ist die Zahl 72. Im Zahlenraum 1 bis 6000 hat die Zahl 72 die größte Teilersummenhäufigkeit. D. h. sie kommt am häufigsten als Teilersumme in den Zahlen 1 bis 6000 vor. Beispiel:
30 = 1×30, 2×15, 3×10, 5×6      σ(30) = 72
46 = 1×46, 2×23                        σ(30) = 72
30 und 46 haben die gleiche Teilersumme 72. Die Zahl selbst wird als Teiler mitgerechnet σ(n).

Die Zahl 72 hat die Teiler 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 18, 24, 36, 72. Die fett markierten Zahlen enthalten beide Formen der für die Pythagoreer heiligen Tetraktys (1,2,3,4), (6,8,9,12). Letztere Form wurde vom römischen Philosophen und Schriftsteller Boetius als “Harmonia perfecta maxima” bezeichnet. Siehe dazu auch: Kramer, Anton; Rationale und irrationale Harmonie, S.77

Die Zahlen 6 und 72 im Kubus. Oberfläche und Volumen bei einen Kubus mit der Kantenlänge sechs sind gleich. (O = V = 6 x 6 x 6 = 216) Es gibt nur einen einzigen ganzzahligen Wert der Kantenlänge, bei dem dies der Fall ist. Die Gesamtlänge aller 12 Kanten beträgt 72. 

W. Limbrunner, 2.11.2017